Get a free quote

Wrightwood Medical Blog
We’re an award-winning medical equipment company based in Chicago.

AIUM Convention Features the Gold Medalists of Ultrasound

Newswise — The American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM) will host its Annual Convention and Preconvention Program at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas, Nevada, March 29–April 2, 2014. The AIUM is known for bringing together the medical community to share advancements in ultrasound across specialties and disciplines. The 2014 convention is set to inspire attendees with an all-star lineup of speakers and educational offerings.

The Opening Session kicks off the convention on Sunday, March 30, with especially timely presentations. Right off the heels of the Sochi 2014 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, the AIUM is delighted to welcome Bill Moreau, DC, DACBSP, managing director of sports medicine at the United States Olympic Committee, to present the Plenary Session, “Keeping Olympic Athletes in the Game: The Role of Diagnostic Ultrasound.” Dr Moreau first presented with the AIUM at the 2012 Ultrasound First Forum, where he described the important role ultrasound imaging plays in its ability to provide immediate, accurate diagnosis of shoulder and other sports-related injuries.

Following the Plenary Session, AIUM President Steven R. Goldstein, MD, will present awards to individuals who have significantly contributed to the growth and development of medical ultrasound and update attendees with the explosive growth in the field of ultrasound and within the AIUM.

Ultrasound visionary and editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Ultrasound in Medicine, Levon Nazarian, MD, is the 2014 recipient of the William J. Fry Memorial Lecture Award. Dr Nazarian will present the lecture “Patient-Focused Imaging: Lessons Learned From Musculoskeletal Ultrasound.” Imaging decisions, on both local and national levels, are often made on the basis of economic considerations and turf battles. This lecture will illustrate how the advancement of musculoskeletal ultrasound has depended on collaboration, not competition, among health professionals.

The momentum continues with award presentations to individuals who have significantly contributed to the growth and development of medical ultrasound. The Joseph H. Holmes Pioneer Awards will be presented to Greggory R. DeVore, MD, for clinical science and James G. Miller, PhD, for basic science. Established just last year, the Peter H. Arger Excellence in Medical Student Education Award will be presented for the first time to Richard A. Hoppmann, MD. Diana M. Strickland, BS, RDMS, RDCS, will be honored with the Distinguished Sonographer Award. The Honorary Fellow Award bestows an honorary membership to those individuals who have contributed significantly to the field of ultrasound. Pascal Laugier, PhD, will be presented with this award.

At the conclusion of the Opening Session, the Exhibit Hall opens for a festive lunch. Visit more than 40 exhibitors to learn the latest in ultrasound technology and services, and observe live scanning—one of the best ways to learn proper scanning techniques. With more than 110 sessions at the 2014 AIUM Annual Convention plus intensive Preconvention Program courses, there’s much for attendees to anticipate and choose from in Las Vegas this spring. The Final Program is available for full descriptions of the course offerings and events. In addition, several moderators have provided a sneak peak at what to look forward to learning at their sessions available here.

Follow the convention using hashtag #AIUM14 on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook. Please contact Jennifer Costello,, for press registration, photographs and biographies.

About the AIUM: The American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM) is a multidisciplinary medical association of more than 10,000 physicians, sonographers, scientists, students, and other health care providers. Established more than 50 years ago, the AIUM is dedicated to advancing the safe and effective use of ultrasound in medicine through professional and public education, research, development of guidelines, and accreditation. For more information, visit